Skip to main content
CME Group Awards Young Ag Enthusiasts with $60K in Scholarships

CME Group Awards Young Ag Enthusiasts with $60K in Scholarships

(NewsUSA) - Every summer, the Illinois State Fair provides a platform for skilled young farmers to demonstrate their expertise in the agricultural industry, something that is udderly important to CME Group.     

During this year’s Governor’s Sale of Champions, CME Group presented the livestock exhibitors with one-time scholarships totaling $50,000. Each of these 10 hard-working students will receive a $5,000 scholarship, which will be used to advance their education.     

Recipients of the 2022 CME Group scholarships included: Ashtin Guyer (Crawford County, IL); Carter Hoge (McDonough County, IL); Chesney Thornton (Piatt County, IL); Cole Caldwell (Peoria County, IL); Drake Fletcher (Menard County, IL); Ella Bobell (Logan County, IL); Maddox Horner (Jasper County, IL); Nalaney Guyer (Crawford County, IL); Nolan Hoge (McDonough County, IL).     

“U.S. farmers play a critical role in the global food supply chain, which has been stressed over the last few years due to the pandemic, rising input costs, extreme weather and geopolitics,” said Tim Andriesen, Managing Director of Agricultural Products at CME Group. “By investing in these bright students, we are helping the next generation of farmers and ranchers continue their education and become successful leaders of our vital food systems.”     

CME Group also purchased the Grand Champion Barrow, which was exhibited by Fletcher, and sponsored this year’s 4-H Illinois Superior Young Livestock Producers Contest at the fair. A record 52 4-H members from across Illinois competed in this year’s skillathon contest and were tested on livestock production covering beef, swine, and sheep. The contest promotes youth development, career development, and personal growth through increased knowledge of the livestock industry.     

After intense competition, nine skillathon champions each received a $1,000 CME Group scholarship to continue their education.     

Recipients of the 2022 CME Group Skillathon scholarships were: Adam Stackemeyer (Altamont, IL); Amelia Miller (Gridley, IL); Chase Hummel (Cabery, IL); Ellie Drach (Pontiac, IL); Emma Pistorius (Blue Mound, IL); Hayden Brint (Good Hope, IL); Olivia Shike (Sadorus, IL); Ross Stabenow (Lena, IL); Tanner Beckmier (Atwood, IL).

Article Link